Spiritual Allegory in Pixar Films

Pretty excited about Pixar’s upcoming film, Ratatouille, which chronicles the adventures of a rat dreaming of becoming a top chef in Paris. Talk about dreaming big.

iTunes has 9 minutes of footage and some behind-the-scenes clips available for download. And from what I’ve seen so far, I’m pretty impressed. Somehow the guys over at Pixar can effortlessly create films that stand head and shoulders above the other animated dreck that’s being churned out by studios every other week about penguins or ants or penguins who marry ants and have ogres for babies. Time magazine had a recent article about exactly what makes Pixar better.

But I’m probably more excited about the trailer for Pixar’s next project, which opens next summer. It’s called Wall-E, about a robot, who after 700 years of doing what he was built for, discovers what he was meant for.

If you know me, you know that something like that gets me thinking about life. (Somehow I get the deepest and most insightful revelations about life while watching cartoons. Go figure.)

Specifically, I thought about the untapped potential we all have inside to do something, to make a difference during our short time here on earth. Sure, we’re built to do stuff—some helpful, some harmful—but very few of us seem to ever find what we’re meant for. I know that it can be a lifelong struggle for many. But I think it’s a pretty powerful thing to wake up every morning and think/reflect: Are we doing what we’re meant for?

Here’s a link to the movie trailer. I don’t know if it’ll elicit the same kind of existential revelation for you that it did for me, so your mileage may vary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

