I Feel Like I’m 12 Again

Okay, so for a week now, I’ve been experiencing an unusually bad breakout of acne. Case in point: I have a zit on my nose the size of Idaho.

It’s a little disconcerting to me, because 1) I’ve never had a breakout this bad, and 2) I’m 28 years old. 

So I’ve been treating myself with a variety of over-the-counter medications that I’ve come to realize will leave my face intensely dry and forever scarred. Sure, fine, whatever. My self-esteem will survive. 

Various Products

What’s been more disturbing is the fact that in an attempt to contact dermatologists in the area for an initial consult on the best way to treat the acne, I found that most weren’t taking new patients until December. 

Holy cow.  

Why does it take forever to get an appointment with a health professional these days? And it’s not just dermatologists. Same goes for primary care physicians and dentists. With the exorbitant insurance premiums that come out of each paycheck, you would at least expect the reasonable availability of health services. 

Hopefully, the next time you see me, the breakout will have subsided. Either that, or it’ll have grown to the size of Texas. In which case, December it is, baby!

Leave a Reply

