College Tour, Day One

I’m traveling for work these next few weeks. I’m coordinating college listening tours that the Under Secretary is conducting across the country. The goal is to talk directly with students about their experiences in higher ed. Our first stop: longhorn country in Austin, Texas.

As I do with all the places I visit, I made a mental note of my impressions of Austin as I drove around today. Here are a few:

  • Texas has such a “feel” to it that was apparent even before I boarded my connecting flight in Atlanta. I swear, everyone around me was either wearing a cowboy hat or talking in that characteristic Southern drawl. I imagine it’s the same kind of aural dissonance that Southerners get when they arrive at T.F. Green Airport in Rhode Island.
  • Driving from the airport to downtown, I passed a whole lot of pinata shops.
  • I didn’t realize that the University of Texas at Austin was actually smack dab in the middle of the city. In terms of campus geography, at least, UT probably has more in common with BU and GWU than I realize. Of course, we all know that the latter two’s football teams don’t really compare.
  • UT students actually wear UT paraphernalia. Imagine that. The last few campuses where I worked, few people would readily admit that they went to school there. So this must be what it feels like to be part of a campus community that actually has some school spirit.

I have photos, but I forgot my USB cord, so I’ll add them later. In the meantime, looking forward to our events tomorrow at UT and at Austin Community College. Should be a great time!

3 thoughts on “College Tour, Day One

Leave a Reply

