Yes or No: Have I Lost It?

I’m taking a quick break from writing a paper that I’ve been working on for the past two weeks. It’s for my survey methods course, and holy cow, I don’t remember having spent this much time on a paper. And what’s sad is that this paper is miles and miles shorter than my drafts of chapters I and II. Not sure if I’ve lost my muse or just hit yet another writing wall. These walls seem to be emerging with more and more frequency these days. I’ve found myself writing and rewriting the same paragraph over and over again these past three days.

Oh well. Easily the highlight of my day: my first “official” massage with an actual professional. It was amazing. I’m glad I took an hour and a half out of my day to pamper myself and get touched (in a G-rated way at least). I think this might be a monthly thing for me; I figured, it’s healthier than drinking and is probably better for me than gorging on, say, Taco Bell.

To my amazement/surprise: (1) it wasn’t sketchy at all, and (2) I didn’t tense up or feel ticklish throughout the whole thing. And it’s true what they say: time flies when you’re having fun. It was so relaxing that the 90 minutes seemed to go by quickly.

And my massage therapist was pretty cool. He’s been doing the massage therapy thing since 1996 but is also a professional musician on the side. Admittedly, I actually started thinking if that could be yet another thing to do after I get done with my doctoral program. Hey, I have to at least put this physical therapy undergrad to use.

Leave a Reply

