Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

I attended a leadership summit at my church this morning, and my pastor challenged us to think about the dangers of being satisfied with the status quo. When we spend too much time relying on memory instead of imagination, complacency and boredom can set in. We begin to take opportunities to serve for granted. And what began as pure, honest worship can quickly turn into rote performance… or worse, avenues for selfish ambition and self-aggrandizement.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been thinking about the concept of not being satisfied with ordinary. I think so many people hit a comfortable spot in life and turn on the autopilot for the rest of their lives. It’s safe, yes. And it will almost guarantee freedom from heartache and disappointment. But I can’t imagine a more boring existence.

Mark ended his talk this morning with a speech Steve Jobs gave at Stanford’s commencement in 1996. In the speech, Jobs challenged the graduates to stay hungry and stay foolish. Jobs was echoing the admonition of a guy named Stewart Brand, who, in the final issue of The Whole Earth Catalog, ended the publication’s run simply with a photo of an old country road with the words “Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.” printed above.

What an awesome motto to live by. It encourages me to chase after the dream that I know I can’t possibly accomplish without some kind of divine intervention. It encourages me to keep trucking on a winding road whose end is nowhere in sight. And it encourages me to embrace the boundless possibilities and potential that exist in each one of us.

Kinda reminds me of the last Calvin and Hobbes strip that Bill Watterson published:

Last Calvin and Hobbes Strip

© Universal Press Syndicate. No copyright infringement intended.

Leave a Reply

