Next Stop: San Francisco

I don’t know when, and I don’t know how, but I’ve decided that I’m moving to San Francisco in the near future. That’s the conclusion I’ve come to after spending four fantastic days there. It was my first time, and I’ve fallen madly in love with the city.

I usually rely on my gut when I visit new places. It’s the same way I picked my college. As I approach my three-year mark in DC in a few months, I’ve been thinking about places to go next. The final two cities in the running were San Francisco or Seattle. (I’ve always suspected that my personality is really more West Coast than East Coast; oddly, I would rather wear Birkenstocks than suits.) And after this recent scouting trip, San Francisco has emerged victorious.

A few observations:

  1. Like most cities, there are lots of homeless people on the streets, but they have way more personality in San Francisco than anywhere else I’ve been. Overheard on the street one day: “I’ll let you verbally abuse me for spare change.”
  2. Reflective of California’s demographics (where Filipino is apparently recognized as a separate ethnicity), there are lot more Asian Americans in San Francisco than anywhere else I’ve lived. At first, I didn’t know how I would feel about being less of a commodity, but I think I’m okay with it. On the plus side, I would have easy, frequent access to Filipino food. Score!
  3. Hills be damned—at least I’ll get to do more cardio out in San Francisco. J I spent a good portion of my visit roaming the city and making it up Coit Tower.
  4. Figures: a skillful street performer on Castro Street was entertaining passersby with an accordion. That just made me smile.
  5. I love how friendly people are in the Bay area. I spent Friday night at a house party with friends of a friend and was impressed at how hospitable they were. Easily made friends in the area within the span of a day. That’s pretty darn good, especially compared with DC.
     
Soon. Very soon. I left my proverbial heart out there and shall return.

Leave a Reply

