Sunday Afternoon Musings

I know, I know. I am once again a truant blogger. This time, though, I have a good excuse: I’m having my annual existential crisis.

Without fail, around this time every summer, I become intensely pensive (more so than I usually am) and start thinking about the meaning of life. It’s not really a bad thing, because my massive tendencies toward introspection allow me to evaluate what I’ve accomplished in the past year and think about what I want to do next.

Of course this type of self-assessment is usually pretty helpful. Unless, of course, you’re in the middle of writing your dissertation. And you have a full-time job. And you do improv at least three nights a week. And you have about ten million other things going on in your life.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve actually effectively rid myself of precious “Archie time” to watch Law & Order reruns, go to the gym, or lounge by my pool. But I have no one to blame but myself for all the things on my plate, so I take full responsibility for my crap. 🙂

A few random musings on this Sunday afternoon:

  • Run, don’t walk, to see Wall-E. It’s a near-perfect movie that’s not really about mankind’s environmental irresponsibility (somewhere Al Gore is channeling Mr. Burns and saying, “excellent”), as much as it’s about our human need for connection. The genius of the film, of course, is that it uses a robot to remind us of our need for community: that we can’t go things alone; that we need others; and that we find fulfillment not in our programmed “directives” but in the relationships we build with each other.
  • I’ve been listening a lot to the soundtrack of this year’s Tony Award winner for Best Musical, In the Heights. It’s not only musically terrific, but it’s got some very touching themes about relationships and family that have hit home for me, especially these past few weeks (Did I mention I’m going through my Dawson Leary period of introspection and over-analysis?).
  • Speaking of hitting home, I finally got a chance to relax a little yesterday, so I decided to watch Field of Dreams using my cable’s In-Demand service. As usual, I teared up at the end, when Ray and his dad start playing catch. It’s true: all the best cowboys have daddy issues.
  • Finally, my pastor challenged us this week to start living dangerously for Christ. Nothing illegal or stupid, of course, but he essentially challenged us to get up off our collective asses and start doing something to make a difference in other people’s lives. So many of us have been lulled to a false sense of comfort that we’ve become complacent and risk-averse, content with our unrealized potential. We’re like the tubby humans in Wall-E, floating around in our cushy hover chairs and endlessly distracted by our own devices, while the galaxy whizzes by outside our window. We play it safe because it’s easier. But imagine what it’d be like if we all stepped out in faith, not seeing the net, but knowing that someway, somehow, we’ll make it anyway. 
Leave a Reply

