House Hunt Update: Aaaaaand We’re Still Waiting

My friend Erin and I were lamenting the fact that no one really teaches you the ins and outs of buying a home until you’re staring a 30-year mortgage in the face. It’s a sad reality for most Americans that unless you do your due diligence and Google the heck out of homebuying, you’re pretty much at the mercy of people who do this for a living. (This is how we got into this recession debacle in the first place!)

So it turns out that the MurderHaus is a short sale. I didn’t know what that meant until I looked it up on Wikipedia.

A short sale is a sale of real estate in which the proceeds from the sale fall short of the balance owed on a loan secured by the property sold.

So although the seller has accepted my offer, the seller’s bank also has to approve it. My Realtor seems to think that the contract will eventually go through. But apparently, banks take their sweet, sweet time approving short sales, which means my closing date might not be until October.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed that my purchase isn’t happening sooner, but I’ve learned the hard way that my timing is never as good as God’s. So I’m just chillaxing until the deal happens.

In the meantime, this’ll be a good chance for me to go through the four years of crap I’ve accumulated since I moved to DC and seriously downsize.

And the wait continues…

One thought on “House Hunt Update: Aaaaaand We’re Still Waiting

Leave a Reply

