House Hunt Update: Tying Up Loose Ends

So in my life, there are currently a lot of spinning wheels, or plates, or tops, or whatever metaphors are appropriate.

I’m closing on the 26th and have yet to: (1) find someone to take over my apartment lease (the wisdom of re-signing my lease last July seems so stupid now); (2) figure out what my actual monthly payment will be, so I can plan to eat ramen noodles for the next 30 years; and (3) pack.

I know it’ll all eventually come together—things always do.

But this is the part I hate.

The notion that a lot of this is out of my control is freeing and terrifying all at the same time. Even the things I *do* have control over (e.g., packing) seem contingent on a piece that’s contingent on another, and so on.

I’ve been somewhere similar before. I do recall staring into the abyss in November 2008, wondering if that pesky little thing called a dissertation would get written before the February 2009 deadline. True, the months in between were pretty much a blur. But somewhere in there, I finished writing the monster.

So I guess there’s hope.

Still: Anyone know anyone who needs a 2BR/1BA apartment? It’s available starting November 1!

Leave a Reply

