On Brady, Tebow, and Faith

Look, I’m Christian, and I’m (mostly) proud of it. I’d probably more accurately call myself a Jesus follower because I generally bristle at the idea of being part of organized religion, even though I know it’s a necessary evil. (Seriously, how the hell did we screw up a gospel of inclusion and make it all about excluding others?)

And for the record, I have problems with so-called “Christians” who are really nothing more than Pharisees and Sadduccees version 2012. To them, Jesus said in Matthew 23:

“Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of the bones of the dead and everything unclean.”

These hate-filled hatemongers make us regular ol’ folks who are just trying to live life as best we can, loving God and loving our neighbors as ourselves, look bad.

And while I admire Tim Tebow for being unashamed of his faith, I’m skeeved by the media and others worshiping at his feet and practically proclaiming him the second coming of Christ. Professing what you believe in is one thing (although I think the story would be completely different if Tebow were, say, Muslim). But when your faith is being used by others (ahem, Focus on the Family) as a vehicle to institutionalize hate, well, that’s quite a different story, isn’t it?

Focus on the Family’s John 3:16 ad during last night’s game, while innocuous-looking enough, was quite “WTF”-inducing. Other than my issue with making the kids look like children of the corn, yes, I do believe that God loved the world so much that he gave his only son so that whoever believes in him shouldn’t perish but have everlasting life. I’m all for that. Except we know that Focus on the Family would rather that that “whoever” doesn’t include, oh I don’t know, LGBT people, feminists, and other less desirable people. 

As I angrily tweeted last night:

Dear Focus on the Family: Let’s not pretend like you like everyone, okay? #andyoucallyourselveschristians

I don’t know Tebow, and I don’t claim to know what’s going on in his inner monologue. I know that he looks cuter with scruff, has great abs and arms, and is only slightly less hotter than Tom Brady. And I’m not going to judge what he probably feels is a good opportunity to use his national visibility to share his faith.

But I do want to let people know, as limited a reach as this blog might have, that there are other kinds of Christians out there… the ones who believe in and live a message of love, who quietly do God’s work everyday without fanfare, photos, or commercials. They take to heart what Jesus said in Matthew 5:

“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.”

And just to close the loop on this post and make it related to football, here are photos of Darth Brady, who had a stellar game last night along with the Pats defense, and Emperor Belichick:

Leave a Reply

