WordPress Is Trying to Make Me Feel Better about My Blog

WordPress just sent me an email telling me about my year in blogging. They congratulated me with the following:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 3,700 times in 2013. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 3 trips to carry that many people.

In 2013, there were 79 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 1,093 posts. There were 62 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 22 MB. That’s about a picture per week.

The busiest day of the year was October 1st with 314 views. The most popular post that day was Shutdown, Day 1: 4 p.m. – 5 p.m..

First, they just compared my blog with a NYC subway train. Hmm. Compliment or insult?

Second: There were 365 days in 2013, and I wrote 79 posts — a posting rate of about 21.6%. That’s pathetic. I really need to post more often. Thanks, WordPress. You just reminded me about my inadequacies as a blogger. Expect more inane one-liners from me!

Finally, apparently my busiest day happened when I was furloughed and EATING A BAKED POTATO PIZZA. If that’s not an accurate depiction of this blog, I don’t know what is. Forget my sincere appeals for marriage equality or my rants about accountability in higher education. The most popular post I wrote was about a baked potato pizza.

That’s about right. Here’s to more exciting things in 2014.

Leave a Reply

