Do Grown-ups Journal?

It’s a new year, which means it’s time for a new design and newer content.

So what to write about?

I’ve been blogging on and off since 1997. My internal monologue is very active, so I grew up an avid journaler. My geocities site became my de facto journal, digitizing late night musings that I used to pen on notebook paper.

I recently read entries from 18 years ago, and I’m both horrified and impressed. Many were overblown, yes. But most were thoughtful — and now, educational. Back then, I relied on journaling as a way to process my thoughts and feelings. I wrote novel-length entries. These days, my thoughts have been narrowed to 140 characters that are carefully curated and vetted through various filters.

<Carrie Bradshaw>I couldn’t help but wonder: Aside from using therapists and bartenders, how do adults hurtling toward middle age process their thoughts and feelings?</Carrie Bradshaw>

Getting married, moving to a new city, starting a new job, and having to create a new support network in the span of 18 months got me thinking. Do grown-ups journal? Or are we somehow expected to have it all figured out by now?

Leave a Reply

